

## **LAPOINTE TOP FEMALE IN MARATHON**

Monica LaPointe accepts clock for being first female finisher in the Island Marathon Sunday from Ken Campbell, awards chairman

for the P.E.I. Roadrunners Association. The third annual marathon, covering 26 miles, was won by Jim Wyatt

of Crossroads. Defending champion Tom Olsen was unable to defend his title because of injuries.



JIM WYATT of Crossroads, P.E.I. accepts trophy after winning the 26 mile Island Marathon Sun-

day from Ken Campbell, awards chairman for the P.E.I. Roadrunners Associa-

tion. Wyatt won the race in two hours 49 minutes and 31 seconds to become the first Islander to win the marathon. Monica LaPointe was the first female finisher.

## Wyatt puts Island runners on map with 2:49.31 win in 26-mile race

By GARTH HURLEY

Jim Wyatt, Crossroads, became the first Islander to win the 26-mile marathon as he crossed the finish line with a time of 2:49.31 on Sunday.

"At this stage it's hard to believe," said Wyatt following his win. "Quite unreal."

The 39 year-old Wyatt was the first of four Island runners that crossed the finish line ahead of their mainland competitors in the third annual Island Marathon.

Paul Wright of Bedeque crossed the line at 2:51.46 for second place. Ewen Stewart was third and Don Pridmore of Charlottetown was fifth. Stewart was clocked at 2:54.37 while Pridmore finished at

Jean Faucher of James Park. N.B. was the first mainland runner to finish. Faucher was fifth at 2:58.42.

Wyatt's time was well off the mark set by last year's winner Tom Olsen of Sydney Mines, N.S. Olsen set a course record with a time of 2:04.33. Olsen captured the first two Island Marathons, but did not return to seek a possible third con-secutive title because of injury.

Wyatt said he was worried about how his time would be when he finishing up the last miles of the marathon.

"I needed a time of two hours fifty minutes or better to qualify for next's years Boston Marathon."

This was the last chance Wyatt had to qualify for the Boston Marathon as a Masters runner.

Having four Islanders top the field shows that Island runners are improving said Wyatt.

"We're getting better. This

shows that we are getting more letown depth in our team.

The combination of wind and heat was hard to run in said Wyatt. He said he believes the combination of the two plus the grueling hill throughout the course slowed most of the mainland runners down.

Bill MacEachern Westville, N.S., led throughout most of the race. At the 19 mile mark the mainland runner had to drop back as cramps forced him to slow his pace. At this point Wyatt took the lead. The Island runner had a 100 yard lead over Paul Wright at the 23 mile mark and stretched the lead as he moved closer to the finish

Monica Lapointe of St. Eleanors was the top female finisher. She finished with a time of 3:50.10.

Fifty-three of the 69 starters finished the grueling 26 mile

The following are the award winners:

TOP FIVE WINNERS

Championship Trophy donated by Tourism Industry Association of P.E.I. presented to Jim Wyatt Crossroads

Second place trophy donated by Wright Bedeque 2:51.46. Third place trophy donated by Moosehead Breweries presented to Ewen Stewart Charlottetown 2:54.37. Fourth place trophy donated by Tim Horton's presented to Don Pridmore Charlottetown 2:57.36. Fifth place award donated by Bonnie Brae Restaurant Cornwall presented to Jean Faucher James Park N.B 2:58.42

TOP FEMALE FINISHERS
First place award donated by

McDonald's Restaurant presented to Monica LaPointe St. Eleanors 3:30:10 Second place award donated by Henderson and Cudmores presented to Eleanor Farrington New Glasgow 4:20.21. Third place award donated by Holman's of P EL presented to Kim Scholefield Bunbury. Scholefield Bunbury. FIRST ISLANDER

Award donated by Rodd Motor Inn presented to Jim Wyatt Crossroads. FIRST COUNTY FINISHERS

Kings County Award donated by Scott's Gift Shop Montague presented to Phillip Lutwick Montague 3:18.42.

Queens County Award donated by Paul's. Flowers Charlottetown presented to Jim Wyatt Crossroads.

Prince County Award donated by Mid-West Sales and Service Ltd. Miscouche presented to Paul Wright Bedeque.

AGE CATEGORY AWARDS

AGE CATEGORY AWARDS
Men 20 and under-gold Calvin
DesRoche Fraetown 3:11.32; silver
Joanathon Orlowski Covehead bronze
Dean MacMillan West Covehead.
Men 21-29 - gold Paul Wright Bede-

que; silver Jean Faucher James park N.B.; bronze Terry Morris Dartmouth

Men 30-38 - gold Jim Wyatt Crossroads; silver Don Pridmore Charlottelown; bronze Timothy Doyle

Men 40-49 - gold Lawrence Macinnis (61) Goldboro N.S.; silver Bob Wigmore (52) Charlottetown; bronze John Bennett (59).

Women 20 and under - gold Monica LaPointe St. Eleanors. Women 21-25 - gold Kim Scholefield

Bunbury. Women 35 and over - gold Eleanor

Farrington New Glasgow





JIM WYATT (left), of Crossroads, crosses over the finish line of the Third Annual P.E.I. Roadrun ners - CBCT-TV FM Island Marathon in a time of 2:49:31, to become the first Islander to win the prestigious event. Wyatt led a flurry of Island run ners to the finish, as Paul Wright (right), of Bede que finished second (2:51:46). Ewen Stewart o Charlottetown was third (2:54:37), and Don Prid more of Charlottetown was fourth (2:57:36)

## Third Annual P.E.I. Marathon Results

Following are the official results of the Third Annual P.E.I. Roadrunners - CBCT-TV FM Island Marathon, held last weekend:

1. Jim Wyatt (2 hours:49 minutes.31 seconds).

2. Paul Wright (2:51.46).

3. Ewen Stewart (2:54,37).

4. Don Pridmore (2:57.36).

5. Jean Faucher (2:58.43).

6. Bill MacEachern (3:00.17).

7. Terry Morris (3:03.19).

8. Timothy Doyle (3:07.29).

9. Leo Glavine (3:08.45).

10. Calvin DesRoches (3:11.32).

11. Salam Hashem (3:12.34). 12. Kenneth Jones (3:18.12).

13. Phillip Lutwich (3:18.42).

14. Carl Phillips (3:18:53). 15. Michel Ouellette (3:20.34).

16. Jake Baird (3:27.19).

17. Ronnie Drake (3:27.19).

18. Simon Laporte (3:29.57). 19. Matt Smith (3:30.38).

20. Parker Lund (3:30.51).

21. Gary McLaughlin (3:31.16).

22. Jonathon Orlowski (3:32.14),

23. Fred Affleck (3:34.40).

24. Lawrence MacInnis (3:35.53).

25. Verner Smitheram (3:37.18).

26. Don Mazer (3:37.18). 27. Alan Preston (3:38.00).

28. John Thompson (3:38.18).

29. Ninian Leblanc (3:39.03). 30. Bob Wigmore (3:44.34).

31. Ralph Saulnier (3:47.25). 32. Dean MacMillan (3:47.51).

33. Kenneth Lawless (3:49.34).

34. Monica LaPointe (3:50.10).

35. Brad Murray (3:51.47).

36. Barry Gill (3:54.46).

37. Thomas C. Brooks (3:55.15).

38. Donald Lightfoot (3:56.56).

39. Don Blane (3:57.35).

40. Charles-Henri Landry (3:57.35).

41. Eric Manual (4:11.45).

42. James Glennan (4:13.40).

43. Eddie Bernard (4:14.50).

44. Ronald Gaudet (4:18.14). 45. Eleanor Farrington (4:20.21).

46. John S. Bennett (4:25.56).

47. Mike Dowling (4:38.25). 48. Reggie MacInnis

(4:39.25). 49. Ralph Murphy (4:39.29). 50. Gordon Chapman

(4:39.33). 51. Carl MacLeod (4:45.02). 52. Kim Scholefield (4:49.57).

53. Ronnie Lund (5:11.38).



